Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Crossbows
 Excalibur Vortex Report from a Newbie >

Excalibur Vortex Report from a Newbie

Community
Crossbows This is the place to discuss hunting with crossbows and crossbow equipment. This is NOT a crossbow debate forum.

Excalibur Vortex Report from a Newbie

Old 12-21-2007, 03:01 PM

Default Excalibur Vortex Report from a Newbie

I am a newbie to crossbows (CB) and bows as far as that goes. I logged on to this site, read some posts and went out and bought an Excalibur Vortex crossbow. Hereare myfindings and experiences so far:

First, the Excalibur instructions are clear and easy to follow. That is if you follow the DVD which was included. It did not take me long to have the bow assembled. Two things I found as a must for the beginner and in my opinion everyone else; Make sure you purchased a string aid and rope cocking aid. I tried string and cocking without them. Not worth the fingers getting smashed, the grunting and pain. These items are money well spent.
After assembling the CB, I put on the scope. I have to say my experience with the Excalibur scope rings was not good. The screws seemed to be cheaply made and I had a lot of trouble keeping the supplied wrench in the slots. They striped a little and had metal come off. I hate to think someday I may have to try and take them out.