Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Crossbows
 crossbow questions from a novice >

crossbow questions from a novice

Community
Crossbows This is the place to discuss hunting with crossbows and crossbow equipment. This is NOT a crossbow debate forum.

crossbow questions from a novice

Old 07-12-2007, 09:03 AM

Default crossbow questions from a novice

hi all, i am very new to crossbows and my wife informed me that she wanted to go hunting with me this year.

i said ok what do you want to shoot.

doesnt want anything that kicks

cant shoot a compound well

pro shop guy said well buy her a crossbow and shows us a horton scout with 125 pound pull,.............ok im ok with that. i figure it should be pretty fast and shoot fairly flat for out to about fourty yards.
i go look at the website for the hortons and it shows the bow shooting around 250 fps..........first thing that goes thru my mind is ehhh? what gives.

i mean its 125 pounds.........shouldnt it shoot faster than that? then i started looking at a few others and they show some of the faster crossbows only shooting 350+ fps..............what gives?....do all crossbows have compound envy?

i want to get her in the blind with me to hunt deer, but i cant spend a big amount of money on a crossbow, and she wants one. the scout package was smaller, and light weight for her also which was a big plus...she doesnt want something that weights ten pounds.

educate me here. i know nothing about crossbows.....is the horton scout a good hunting crossbow out to what effective range?

thanks all .

the countdown has begun less than 2 months left for deer huntin.

Old 07-12-2007, 09:18 AM
Typical Buck

Default RE: crossbow questions from a novice

Well, 350 FPS is very fast for a crossbow, I shoot an Excalibur Exocet 200 and it shoots 300 FPS, that isn't as fast as you may think if you are accustomed to a compound. A stubby little crossbow arrow doesn't stay moving fast for very long..