Community
Camp Cooking and Game Processing Trade recipes and other tricks of the trade for cooking wild game.

2 Questions - Please Help!!

Old 04-07-2007, 12:03 PM
Fork Horn

Default 2 Questions - Please Help!!

#1) I have smoked a few roasts in my electric smoker and they have been very tender and good, but I am wondering how long and to what temperature to cook them so that they can be pulled apart, or shredded, to make BBGQ sandwiches. So far the meat has not been tender (or whater makes it do this) to flake apart with a fork - like at BBQ restaurants.

#2) I have read in the search that when cooking brisket, once it has reached the correct temperature then they will put in in foil and then put in in the freezer or ice chest. Why is this?

I am new to smoking and have read two books that I bought but I cannot find these anwsers in them.

Thanks!!!
Old 04-08-2007, 10:12 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: 2 Questions - Please Help!!

1) when I make pulled porkmy temp is 225 and14 to 16hrs. Your internal should be at 180 to 185. Then let it rest about 15 mins. I use an electric thermonitor itmakes it alot easier and you don't have to keep opening the door loseing the heat and smoke
2) Notsure but maybeto stop the meat from cooking.
here's one I did awhile ago took 16hrs but worth every minute
as for brisket times are a little longer and temps are about the same.
It's all trial an error, being each cooker is differant. Over cooking is some what impossible with the brisket & pulled pork. Not saying it can't be done, but you'd have to try awfully hard.

Old 04-12-2007, 09:23 PM