Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 new to bowhunting - draw weight >

new to bowhunting - draw weight

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

new to bowhunting - draw weight

Old 04-11-2005, 09:52 AM

Default new to bowhunting - draw weight

Im new to bowhunting and im finally at 40 lbs. I started 3 weeks ago and I was pulling 30 lbs. Im a female with small stature and im hoping to get to 50 lbs by sept. How much would u need for elk hunting? There is a women I know at Winter Hawk outfitters that kills elk on a 48 lb draw.

Thanks
Melissa
Old 04-11-2005, 10:16 AM

Default RE: new to bowhunting - draw weight

I think it ultimately depends on shot placement. I've seen pics of elk killed with bows in the 40# range. Personally, I would want a minimum of 50lbs for a critter of that size.
Old 04-11-2005, 11:11 AM
Giant Nontypical

There is a thread right now discussing a very similar issue. Here is the link:

http://forum.hunting.net/asppg/tm.asp?m=1024658
Old 04-11-2005, 04:43 PM

Shot placement, shot placement, shot placement, shot placement, shot placement, shot placement, shot placement, shot placement, shot placement, shot placement, shot placement, shot placement, shot placement.

Did I get my point across? A #45 pound bow will take out an elk if you hit it in the right spot. A #70 pound bow is going to wound an animal if you hit it in the butt.
Old 04-11-2005, 06:12 PM
Nontypical Buck

At 40 to 50 lbs. you have enough to make a clean kill on an elk. A well tuned set up, sharp broadheads, confidence in your shooting abilities and waiting until the elk is in your comfort zone will increase your chances on filling your tag.
Good Hunting...
Old 04-11-2005, 06:14 PM
Nontypical Buck

I agree with Max,