Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Let off %

Old 01-23-2005, 08:58 PM

Default Let off %

What let off do you guys shoot, and does it have any effect on bow speed?
Old 01-23-2005, 09:35 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Let off %

Well...right now I shoot 65% so I can get the most speed I can get. But when I get the bow Im gonna get this spring. I will be able to achieve up to 97% let off without any speed loss at all. If I want to fiddle with it alot, I can go from 40% to over 95% let off with zero speed loss.
Old 01-23-2005, 09:41 PM

I get 0% let off with my new bow. I just switched from a compound to a recurve. I am still new to shooting a recurve so I draw back to the corner of my lip and wait for the let off to take place! I get a nice suprise after I feel a sharp pain in my arm!

I used to shoot 70% let off. It does hamper the speed, but not by much.
Old 01-23-2005, 10:08 PM
Nontypical Buck

Dairy King, 97% let off, WOW, Please don't take this the wrong way, but are you sure about that? What bow manufacture claims it can do that? I am not saying your wrong, I just want to read about that for myself before I believe it.
Old 01-23-2005, 10:18 PM
Nontypical Buck

I knew someone wouldn't believe me. The manufacturer doesn't claim it, but the bow is called an Oneida Stealth. A stock Stealth can't do it, but if I send it up to Monster Bows Inc. they will upgrade it to achieve 97% let off (similar to what Crackers does to Martins/Marlins, whatever bows them are)...and Yes, it REALLY is 97% let off, I chat with a guy that helps in upgrading the bows and various other people who have had this done. If I really wanted to, I could draw the bow, point it at the ground and let go of the riser and it would hang (very dangerous, would never do it). Its not a bloated claim, its actually over 90% let off.