Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Shoulder Pain?

Old 01-16-2005, 07:22 PM

Default Shoulder Pain?

Alright guys, I am brand new to bowhunting. I shot my bow for the first and so far only time 2 weeks ago. I shoot right handed, and now have some sharp shoulder pains in my left shoulder, which is my holding arm. I believe the pain is from letting the bow down slowly without shooting while the archery pro that was setting me up was measuring my draw length. I had to let down slowly like this multiple times, and noticed a sharp pain during the let down action. After he finally had me squared away, I shot about 30 times before the pain kept me from drawing my bow anymore. My bow is set at 70 lbs of draw, which before the shoulder pain was absolutely no problem for me to handle. I am an experienced and competent weight lifter, so my shoulder was/is in good shape, besides the pain from drawing.
I have let my shoulder rest for two weeks and it felt good. I attempted to draw it back tonight, but failed because of the pain. I can easily draw with my other arm without any pain or effort whatsoever. I also have no history of injuries in my left shoulder.
Any of you guys experience the same or similar thing? I am hoping that there is a ligament or tendon that does not see much use outside of the very act of drawing a bow that I may have pulled and just needs time to heal. What do you guys think? Thanks for your time.
Old 01-16-2005, 07:26 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Shoulder Pain?

Wish I could help you out. I at times in the past have got some pretty sore muscles in my drawing arm shoulder from over shooting. I know exactly what you are talking about but have always had it happen in the other shoulder.

I just give it a good rest when it acts up like that. Hope it works out for you.

Welcome to bowhunting and good luck!
Old 01-16-2005, 07:30 PM