Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 all bows created equal? Help with 1st bow >

all bows created equal? Help with 1st bow

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

all bows created equal? Help with 1st bow

Old 12-16-2004, 09:17 AM

Default all bows created equal? Help with 1st bow

I am new to hunting and archery. I want to purchase a new bow next spring and practice all summer until the hunting season opens. I need help with picking the right bow. I know I need to shoot several different bows. I am looking for suggestions on what bows to look at and what ones to stay away from.

I got measured the other day at a shop. I am a 27" draw. I would like a single cam bow, in the 50-60lb range.

What are your suggestions.
Old 12-16-2004, 10:18 AM
Typical Buck

Default RE: all bows created equal? Help with 1st bow

Shades,

Welcome to bowhunting!!

In response to your question, most bow MFG's out there today are very good. You'll hear alot of people saying certain MFG's are better than others, but in all honesty, they are all pretty well made now a days. What you'll want to do is find one that is comfortable. I would recommend looking at a bow with a axle to axle of around 34 inches or more and a brace height of 8 inches or more. This type of set up will tend to be forgiving.

I hope this helps.

Slice
Old 12-16-2004, 10:32 AM
Nontypical Buck

Welcome aboard shades,glad to have ya
slicendice gave some good info.All I can say to add in is try a bunch out to see what you like.Some bows are expensive and others are a little cheaper but will still get the job done.Spend your money on better accessories.If the bow fits you good and its accessorized with quality products then the bow will shoot good for ya.