Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Noticing Funnels >

Noticing Funnels

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Noticing Funnels

Old 12-03-2004, 09:47 AM

Default Noticing Funnels

I have been hunting for many years and have yet to learn what a deer funnel is supposed to look like. When i go scouting, I just find a trail and walk it till i find alot of sign, which normally leads me to bed, food, or sexual stompping grounds for deer. However, I hunt on 330 acres of private land which ties into thousands of acres of public land, and thats alot of walking!! I've always heard the term, and I understand I think, but around here I'm in the foothills of the Appalachain mountains, there are no fields at all where I hunt and some of the terrain is almost straight up and down. There are some old logging roads, and streams, but other than that its just thick woods. I know it sounds stupid but can you guys help me know what to look for terrian wise?? All my stands have went dead, and I am forced to go far and wide in search of new stands before next season. Like I said, I just want to save myself alot of walking, when I could just look and go. If someone can tell me what to look for on a topo...or in the woods it would help me a great deal. Thanks guys....and sorry for the stupid question...you'd think after all these years id learn this stuff.
Old 12-03-2004, 11:26 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Noticing Funnels