Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
Mathews...all hype? >

Mathews...all hype?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Mathews...all hype?

Old 12-13-2009, 06:31 AM
Fork Horn

Default Mathews...all hype?

I want to start by saying that I just want to have a good old fashioned discussion about this and I don't want anyone to get upset. Maybe I could learn something that I didn't know.

I want to know what all the hype over Mathews bows is all about. I have been shooting a bow for almost 20 years. During the majority of that time I have heard Mathews this and Mathews that. I just don't get it.

Now, I will agree that Mathews has come out with some great technology. They are the inventor of the solo cam. The roller guard is a great idea. Harmonic dampeners...also good. But I think that too much credit is given to this company.

The solo cam was next to perfect when it was introduced in the early 90's. However (and yes I am biased because I shoot one) Darton Archery holds almost all patents that most current cams are produced off of. For example, Hoyt's cam and a half was based off of the CPS system. Today's hybrid cams have been proven to out perform Mathew's solo cam (speed, smoothness, string creep, etc).

Also, why does Mathews advertise that their extras (string dampeners and such) are brand new innovations. Types of harmonic dampeners and string dampeners have been around for years. Now I see that it costs $100 for the new Mathews detachable bow quiver (that seems to be all the rage). It's nothing new and not that special.