Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Recurve and Compound Bows >

Recurve and Compound Bows

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Recurve and Compound Bows

Old 07-02-2008, 04:55 PM

Default Recurve and Compound Bows

Hi,
I was wondering what is the differences between recurve and compound bows. I have seen them, but have never used them, I am new to the sport of bowhunting.

Also, any reccomendations on a bow around $300-400 would also be helpful

Thanks
Old 07-02-2008, 05:44 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Recurve and Compound Bows

Other than the obvious aesthetic differences (a compound featuring wheels/cams at the tips and cables in addition to strings) a compound bow most notably features "let-off".

The best way I can describe this is to show you on a graph and roughly describe whats going on...

With a recurve, the draw weight is expressed as #s (pounds) of course, but, as you draw a recurve bow, the further back you draw, the more the weight will increase. So, we use 28" as a standard draw to express the peak weight of a recurve bow..... for example a 45# draw recurve would be hitting 45#s at 28". At just 3-4" it might only be 5#s or so. At 29", it might be up around 48#s. Here is whats is called a draw force curve that will show how the weight goes up as the bow is drawn:

With a compound bow, the peak weight might be 70#s... only compounds have let-off (most do anyway).... that let-off is expressed as a %.... say 80% let off. To keep the math easy, lets say we have a compound that peaks at 100#s with 80% let-off. As you draw the bow back, the force you are pulling will reach 100#s... however, as you approach full draw (also known as the valley) 80% of that weight will be 'let-off' so you will only be holding 20#s at full draw. With a 100# recurve at full draw (lets assume 28") you'd be holding the full 100#s.