Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Recurve or Compound?? >

Recurve or Compound??

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Recurve or Compound??

Old 02-13-2003, 10:58 PM

Default Recurve or Compound??

I am new to bowhunting and will be buying my first bow soon. I have heard that a recurve is better for beginners. Others say it doesn' t matter. What do you guys (and girls) think? Any opinions will help.
Old 02-14-2003, 06:23 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Recurve or Compound??

If you have the money I would go with the compound.I learned the basics on a long bow as a child,started hunting with a recurve as they didn' t have compounds then. now use the compound.As long as your out there in the woods you' ll enjoy yourself. Drawing on a deer and holding waiting for the right moment takes a little muscle, you' ll be glad you bought the compound with the let off. Also they shoot faster and flatter. a little fogiving for not having spent more time on the range.Hope this helps some and good luck to you. don,t forget the four seasons almost summer,summer,still summer and DEER SEASON
Old 02-14-2003, 11:26 AM
Dominant Buck

Personally, I would start with a compound, that is if money permits. I like to use my compound for deer hunting and my recurve for rabbit hunting and fishing. It all depends on what you intend on doing and how you like to do it. My brother likes long bows and will shoot nothing else.

When choosing, try some out. You will find recruves are harder to hold because of the stack, no let off. recurves are also slower, generating less force. But agian it all depends on what you do and how you want to do it. Its like the debate about fingers or release. Its all personal pref.. I would recomend trying them both out.