Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Too soon to rattle? >

Too soon to rattle?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Too soon to rattle?

Old 10-11-2007, 12:13 PM
Fork Horn

Default Too soon to rattle?

When do bucks start to respond to rattling? I have never tried rattling in a buck before, so I don't know when I should start. I tried a couple days ago and did get a doe and fawn to come look to see what was going on. What time of day works better, morning or evenings? Thanks for any help guys
Old 10-11-2007, 12:27 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Too soon to rattle?

I gave the rattlers a little tickle on Tuesday night and I had2 small bucks come trotting in. I will do that most of the year. I will hit them hard once the rut starts going.
Old 10-11-2007, 12:38 PM

"Tickling" is your best bet, and yes they will respond, once the Rut hits, you can smash them as hard as you want!
Old 10-11-2007, 12:43 PM

i was wondering that too. what time of day works best for this, and should it be folloewd by and other calls?
Old 10-11-2007, 01:18 PM
Nontypical Buck

Still a little to early in my parts
Old 10-11-2007, 01:28 PM
Giant Nontypical

Bucks are sparring now. Light rattling wont hurt. I wouldn;t smash em. It may bring some curious ones in.
Old 10-11-2007, 02:00 PM

as soon as the velvet comes off they start to fight....not serious fighting but sparing getting in that practice will help for when that time comes to get into a serious fight.....light rattling will work now and as the rut gets closer start to get more serious in banging those horns
Old 10-11-2007, 02:04 PM

what about grunt calling? can you start that with light rattling or do you still need to wait for the rut?
Old 10-11-2007, 02:12 PM
Dominant Buck