Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 IDAHO 1st year bow hunting! >

IDAHO 1st year bow hunting!

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

IDAHO 1st year bow hunting!

Old 09-03-2007, 01:41 AM
Fork Horn

Default IDAHO 1st year bow hunting!

This is my first year bow hunting. Opening day was Thursday 8/30/07 in northern idaho. The morning started out perfect. Temps were around 42 degrees.I was solo hunting and entered the woods around 06:20 AM. Started out late since I had to work mygraveyard shift. The area had yielded some great successful elk rifle hunts. Proceeded tofollowing a well used game trail. Located several rubs on trees. Found a good place to setup and started cow calling. After a few minutes of waiting between calls I could hear something moving through the trees then silence. After about10 minutesI moved a short distance to setup again.Proceeded to make a few more cow calls and the woods were alive again. I waited and once again silence after a couple minutes. Experience told memake more calls andwaite. About 20 moreminutes passed w/o any activity. I'm thinking all this time that whatever isin the woods is long gone. Finally decided it was time to continue my stalk and wasmaking my way down the trailmaking some cow calls. I'll bet the cow call had no more then left my lips and WOW there was a huge 5x5 bull elk coming strait for me out of the trees. Luckily there was a couple nice size trees between us.