Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

A starter buck?

Old 12-21-2006, 05:04 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default A starter buck?

Now, I'm new to archery and hunting all together. I started hunting in 2004 after i completed my hunters safety course with a 97, highest in the class. I've been interested in hunting since i was very little. I've been watching deer and going on deer hunts with my dad for a few years before this.

I started bow hunting career with a crossbow because of the fact that i wasnt able to pull back a compound and wanted to wait a few years untill i started shooting compound. So far my archery season has been up and down. I started my hunting career strictly shotgun, harvesting my only deer with a shotgun. I never realised how awesome it is to bowhunt. It's such an experience having deer 20 yards up to right underneath your stand! I've never been more at peace with nature than i have been watching deer feed under my stand on a cool frosty morning overlooking a feild. It's some of the coolest experiences i've had yet. It's really somthing watching the deer that you plan to harvest so close to you. I could see the deer's breath, hear it eat, watch it respond to every other move out in the woods it calls home.

My archery career is going slow so far though. I waited a few long weeks before deciding to "attempt" to harvest a mature doe with my xbow. I was confident in my shot. I had a great rest and she was 15 yards away. Rut was in full swing and the deer were very jumpy but she was quartering away slighty looking the opposite direction. I took aim and fired. She jumped in the air and the arrow went clean underneath her. It was hard swallowing down the fact that i missed and i was tore up about it for days.