Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Some Advice please! >

Some Advice please!

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Some Advice please!

Old 11-17-2006, 04:09 PM

Default Some Advice please!

Well theres only one more day of gun season here in Pike County Kentucky and I havent bagged the big one yet! As a matter of fact, I havent even seen anything! I missed taking a shot at a monster 8-point on opening day last saturday and since haven't even seen a doe! this is my first year ever deer hunting and hate to start out not getting anything. Your only allowed to harvest a buck in Pike county, so taking a doe isn't an option this year. My question is, where should i be looking. I'm not clueless, just looking for someone to give some good advice. I work 3rd shift and cant get in the hills till at least 8:30-9:00. I know that is a little late, but its all I can do. I have found lots of scrapes and rubs. I founds places where they have been crossing low gaps and all that. But not seeing anything anywhere. Its discouraging, but it happens a lot i understand. Tomorrow is supposed to be sunny and near 55 degrees. The hills here are very thick and getting the perfect shot isn't gonna happen? Would finding a spot with good signs such as rubs and scrapes and sitting and waiting for a shot be my best choice? Or should i try moving through the hills in hopes of jumping a buck or seeing one? I dont think I'm impatient. I am sitting at least 3-4 hours before I move at all. nad move very slowly and quietly when i do. Am I overlooking something or is this just part of hunting? LOL! Thanks in advance for any help. I know this isn't written all that well and may not have put it in a way where my questions could clearly be defined, but I'd like to make the last day of gunseason in my area a good one! Thanks!
Old 11-17-2006, 04:39 PM