Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

rattle bag

Old 11-15-2006, 10:01 AM

Default rattle bag

im new to bow hunting and new to this forum.
what do ya think of a rattle bag?
good ? bad?

thinks ia buck.
Old 11-15-2006, 10:28 AM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: rattle bag

Ive used them with success. Ive also used real racks and artificial racks. All with equal results. I think the key is, the deer have to be responsive. If they are, either will work, if used correctly for the time of rut you are hunting.
Old 11-15-2006, 10:28 AM
Dominant Buck

Oh yea, welcome to the board.
Old 11-15-2006, 10:29 AM

Hey,
I personally don't like them, I think real antlers are the way to go. If that is all you got then I guess I would use them.
Old 11-15-2006, 10:37 AM
Giant Nontypical

Welcome to the forums ia buck

Rattle bags will work but if you can get some real antlers , they would be better .
I have a pair from a small eight point taken a couple years back , took the brow tines off and use them.
But to get back at your question most rattle bags have wooden dowles of diffrent size and shape to crerate the sound they make.
There are some bags out that have hard plastic and there are some very hard to find that have cheramic in them, the cheramicsounds real close to the real thing and the hard plastic sound better than the wooden ones.
So the choice is your to make , I rather use my shed antlers .
Old 11-15-2006, 01:37 PM

a friend and i decided to make our own rattle bag rather than buy another expensive article for hunting. we used pieces of an old oak picture frame placed in a large sock with a rubber band around it. i realize that this sounds patheticly cheap, but for a hunter on a budget, this bag sounds just as close to rattling horns as any bag on the market. no joke. you can experiment with different sizes, shapes, and types of wood for different sounds, and its free.