Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

turkey?

Old 09-11-2006, 08:48 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default turkey?

this is my first year bowhunting....im mainly after deer...but our fall turkey season overlaps...so the chance is there.....we got a deer vital post...lets get a turkey one going...along with bowshots on turkeys....anyone have any sites....advice..placement etc?? a fall turkey with a bow....that would be awesome...just dont know where to shoot..heard alot of mixed opinions...ill probably use 1 1/2 inch cut mechanicals..or my muzzy 100gr 3blade heads..thanx..
Old 09-11-2006, 09:01 PM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: turkey?

When a bird is braodside, you want to shoot the wing butts. It's preferable if the arrow stays in the bird but with todays KE bows, that's usually not the case. A good wide expandable is a good choice. Of course, taking one in the head is perfect as well, a tough shot on a constantly moving target. Frontal shots should be taken dead center on the breast to the neck and from the back, part way down to spine them. With a good broad broadhead, your pretty much good to go when you get in the body cavity or head/neck.
Old 09-11-2006, 09:08 PM

I couldn't have put it better my self.
Old 09-11-2006, 09:08 PM
Nontypical Buck

I shot my first turkey with a bow this spring. I used a spitfire 100 grain which has a 1 1/2" cut. My bird was quartering away. I hit him just behind the wing and the arrow came out 1" to the right of the base of his beard. It was a complete passthrough. He walked about 15 yards and died.

I'd recommend a big mechanical head and aim for the center of the body.
Old 09-11-2006, 09:09 PM

The NAP Gobbler Getters are pretty sweet from what I hear, and blunt enough to send alot of that KE into the bird, knocking him down.
Old 09-11-2006, 09:55 PM
Giant Nontypical