Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Razortec in Intensive Care Unit - Need Help >

Razortec in Intensive Care Unit - Need Help

Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Razortec in Intensive Care Unit - Need Help

Old 08-07-2006, 06:45 PM
  #1  
Nontypical Buck
Thread Starter
 
gzg38b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Flushing Michigan
Posts: 2,355
Default Razortec in Intensive Care Unit - Need Help

I was hoping to get throughthe season with my current strings and cables but it ain't happenin. About 1/3 of the strands on my cables are broken and the string is frayed. The String is one year old but the cables are three years old and I shoot alot. Now the BAD NEWS:

I tried to back off the poundage with the allen wrench but the limb bolt was stuck and wouldn't budge. So I pushed harder and ended up stripping the limb bolt! I took it to the shop but the bolt is stripped so bad they said they didn't know if they could get it out. It's maxed out at 73# and I don't think they can put it in the press to change the cables/string without loosening the limb bolts. Anybody got any suggestions for dealing with a stripped limb bolt?
gzg38b is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 07:02 PM
  #2  
 
mobow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location:
Posts: 13,082
Default RE: Razortec in Intensive Care Unit - Need Help

Easy outs. Any shop worth their salt should be able to get that out of there. Lesson learned, I presume??

They'll be able to press it like it is. That's no worry, but you gotta get that limb bolt out of there.
mobow is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 04:02 PM
  #3  
Nontypical Buck
 
Dubbya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Norman OK USA
Posts: 3,318
Default RE: Razortec in Intensive Care Unit - Need Help

I say take a dremel or some kind of rotary tool and cut grooves on the top of the bolt. Then use a hefty screw driver and get that puppy out. Shouldn't be a problem. I would call Hoyt if the shop doesn't have a limb bolt so that you don't have to wait for it to get there. Good luck.
Dubbya is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 05:41 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
zak123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ocean Springs, MS
Posts: 4,103
Default RE: Razortec in Intensive Care Unit - Need Help

That has happened to me three times before. They will press the bow in order to reduce the tension and take the bolt out by hand. It is a very easy fix.
zak123 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 06:10 PM
  #5  
Nontypical Buck
Thread Starter
 
gzg38b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Flushing Michigan
Posts: 2,355
Default RE: Razortec in Intensive Care Unit - Need Help

Thanks guys. I hope it's that easy. Ihatehaving my bow in the shop this close to hunting season.
gzg38b is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 10:47 AM
  #6  
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 947
Default RE: Razortec in Intensive Care Unit - Need Help

Get a strippedscrew remover from the hardware store. Drill a hole in the screw tap the remover in and crank it out. Simple fix.
Deer902 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
zmax hunter
Hunts/Outfitters
0
07-10-2007 07:07 AM
utahhntr
Big Game Hunting
3
06-22-2004 11:15 AM
jabuck
Bowhunting Gear Review
8
02-13-2004 01:23 PM
buckmine
Whitetail Deer Hunting
14
12-17-2003 11:46 AM
pup
Technical
9
12-25-2002 02:23 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Quick Reply: Razortec in Intensive Care Unit - Need Help


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.