Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 “My” deer….no shot, but great hunting experience >

“My” deer….no shot, but great hunting experience

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

“My” deer….no shot, but great hunting experience

Old 11-07-2005, 08:08 AM
Dominant Buck

Default “My” deer….no shot, but great hunting experience

I acquired access to the land that surrounds my 3 acres….and I just started hunting it, recently. The owner at first told me no….then recanted and lets my son and I bow hunt there, exclusively. We had only hunted there once….seeing nothing, but I have been scouting the area for several weeks. I’ve seen scrapes; droppings; tracks….and I think I’ve figured out which way they’re traveling.

I started deer hunting, this year. I also picked up a bow for the first time, this year. My background is in waterfowl and turkey hunting. I got into my stand at “my” new land around noon on Saturday. I figured I’d sit the afternoon/evening out, there. With about 20 minutes of shooting light left……I heard “the noise” behind me. I stood up….got the bow ready……but “the noise” wouldn’t present itself. Then….I heard another noise…..then another…..then another. In the span of a minute….I was directly above 4 deer. I could have taken a shot at any one of them….and chose not to. I was literally 6 yds from the animals (directly below me). I didn’t get busted (rubber boots/scent blocker clothing/cover spray on everything)…..and I just smiled. Everything worked perfectly. Though I passed on these 4 deer….I know I can put my son in that stand, now….and let him take one of them. I’ll hold out for another deer, another time.