Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Getting your land ready >

Getting your land ready

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Getting your land ready

Old 11-03-2005, 03:33 AM

Default Getting your land ready

I need some advice. I'm new to hunting and I've struggled to find areas to hunt. This year I got permission to hunt 80 acres that has never been hunted before (at least no ones had permission to hunt before). It has some wooded areas and some fields. There aren't any crops planted nor did I get a chance to plant any food plots. The grass is almost waist high everywhere you go except on the paths that I've driven in my truck. I set up two stands out there, one on the edge of a wood line over looking about a 30 acre field with no much on it except the old road coming into the area. My other stand is in the middle of a wooded area. I have a natural funnel about 50 yards to my northeast and the other edge of the wooded area is about 50 yards to my south. It looks like deer have been coming in through the funnel and heading south out into another open field area. I haven't found many natural food sources except acorns. There are a couple of ponds on the land. I'm pretty sure it's an ideal place for deer. I've seen lots of sign. I found a couple of rubs in the wooded area that I have one of my stands in about 30 or so yards from my stand, but I haven't seen anything fresh. I haven't been able to scout the land out real good yet. Are there any suggestions on what to do to get the area ready for next year? Should I plant some biologic or some other types of food plots? Should I try to have the fields cut and bailed? I'm planning (hoping) to be able to keep using this peice of land and if so, I'd like some ideas on how to get it set up so the deer keep coming in.
Old 11-03-2005, 05:37 AM

Default RE: Getting your land ready