Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 WHERE DO I START? >

WHERE DO I START?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

WHERE DO I START?

Old 08-08-2005, 10:59 AM

Default WHERE DO I START?

Guys I have been looking into perhaps leasing some land. I have never done it before, but have always said I am willing to pay for good ground to hunt. There are several advertisements in the local classifieds. The land would likely be mostly hardwoods in tracts about 50-300 acres. How do I decide what to pay? What is too much to pay? Do I pay an amount per acre or what? Also, I would likely want a lease to run 3+ years is that too much or too little? Of course I would make it clear that I must have exclusive rights and would like to even post the property with signs. What are questions I need to ask the owners when I talk with them on the phone? What should scare me away from a piece of property? Thanks for the help...
Old 08-08-2005, 11:17 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: WHERE DO I START?

I don't know how North Carolina is but I'll tell you how it is where I hunt. Most land in Arkansas where I hunt is owned by forestry companies or family trusts. The cost of a lease per acre can vary. I have three leases ranging from 40 acres to 180 acres. On one lease my brother in law and I pay a little over two dollars an acre leasing from a family trust. On another we pay 4.00 an acre but we have to pay 115 a year for insurance to the timber company. This puts the effective rate at 6.00 an acre for a 40 acre lease. For another lease we pay 4.18 an acre and that is about the going rate.

I look at a leases accessability (do I have to cut trails in), amount of huntable land (if half of your land is in a swamp, that's not necessarily a good thing) , rules as far as what can be done with the lease (do they allow clearing to plant food plots).