Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 pennsylvania bowhunting >

pennsylvania bowhunting

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

pennsylvania bowhunting

Old 07-23-2005, 06:18 PM

Default pennsylvania bowhunting

i am going to bradford county, pa. the town is called west burlington has any body had any luck there bucks or does? i guess we are hunting in a bunch food plots there. i heard its nothing to see 15 deer a day is this true? here in mass lucky to see 2 deer a day. i will be going to pa. the first week in october is this a good week i know its not the rut time? any help or info would be greatly appreciated?
Old 07-23-2005, 06:33 PM

Default RE: pennsylvania bowhunting

I'm sure yu will have fun in BRadford COunty. I have been hunting there gun and bow for the last 6 years and continually see both large numbers and big deer. The county is a nice mix of fields and woods (at least where i hunt in Le Raysville). Gun hunting i have seen usually 15-20 deer a day. There are a lot of does but some real nice bucks also. You must remember that it is the 3 point rule over there so its got to be a six pointer or better. A during preseason scouting we always see deer in the 120- 130 range. Good luck and let us know how you do.
Old 07-23-2005, 07:14 PM
Typical Buck

Actually it doesn't have to be a 6 point or better according to the 3 point rule. It could be a half rack "Y" but with a browtine bump. 3 point rule just states that on one antler there must be ATLEAST 3 points, which the main beam is considered 1 point, then there has to be a point atleast 1 inch tall and a browtine bump (no minimal length as long as it's there)

Just checked the PGC.. this year they changed the browtine rule. Now it has to be atleast 1 inch to be counted as a point. Last year it could be any length, even a bump.
Old 07-23-2005, 09:05 PM
Typical Buck