Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting Gear Review
starting out and need advice >

starting out and need advice

Community
Bowhunting Gear Review Broadheads, arrows, rests, bows, and more... read the latest reviews of hot new gear items related to archery and bowhunting.

starting out and need advice

Old 08-19-2002, 11:04 AM

Default starting out and need advice

I am just getting started bow hunting and want to select the proper bow for me. I am intent on sticking with it and eventually focusing exclusively on bowhunting rather than using a rifle, so I'd like to get a very good bow now, one that will last, may not need immediate care (timing, etc), and one that I can learn and develop with as well (good for beginner as well as more advanced as I get better). I primarily hunt turkey and whitetail in upstate NY, though may expand to bear soon. I understand single cam is the way to go (please correct me if that's wrong), so I'd like to get the best (or one of the best) single-cams available if you more experienced types think that is advisable. Please let me know your recommendations.
Old 08-19-2002, 01:26 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: starting out and need advice

Firstly welcome to the board and to the wonerful world of bow hunting.

With so many good bows from just about all the manufractures it is hard to say got to this or that one.
What might be perfect for me is probably not going to be perfect for you.
I suggest you go to as many pro shops as you can and shoot as many bows as you can.
Then make a short list and go back and shoot the ones on your short list.
You are the only one that will know what feels best for you.
Good luck
Old 08-19-2002, 05:28 PM