Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Any Minnesota BP hunters here ? >

Any Minnesota BP hunters here ?

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Any Minnesota BP hunters here ?

Old 01-30-2005, 11:44 AM
Fork Horn

Default Any Minnesota BP hunters here ?

I don't know if its just me, but as I get older I cannot seem to focus on my Iron sights anymore, I don't want to give up black powder hunting. ( I have been doing it for more than 20 years ) I have tried perscription glasses but that don't help with lineing up my rear site with my front sight and then a deer. I shoot a TC hawken 54 cal, use to be pretty good but sites are gettin to fuzzy. Contacted the Minnesota DNR office and asked them about putting on a 1X scope, and they told me " NO SCOPES DURING MUZZLE SEASON." and if I wanted the law changed to contact my State representitive. It has become very humbling to admit I'm getting to old to participate in the sport I love. and if I want to use the old smoke pole I have to go out of state so as I can use a scope on it. I know I will get a little flack for some guys about this but I really enjoy the muzzle and hate the rifle season due to a few close calls ( bullets wizzing by from neighbors ) I contacted My local representitive with my plight, and gave him some data, on bordering states that do allow the use of at least 1X scopes. hope to hear back from him. Just wondering if anyone else has noticed that getting old Sucks.
Old 01-30-2005, 04:02 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Any Minnesota BP hunters here ?