Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Another question on new Muzzleloader >

Another question on new Muzzleloader

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Another question on new Muzzleloader

Old 01-01-2005, 10:51 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default Another question on new Muzzleloader

HEy everyone, I have yet another question about Muzzlloaders, Cabelas has a sale going on right now on the TC Black Diamond XR, you can get just the gun for $180, Gun with scope, for $230, or Gun with scope, and starter kit for $269. Is this a good price for this gun. And how does this gun compare with the Omegas, what are the differences between these guns?And how does the encore compare to these 2 guns? Thanks for any input you can give. I am new to Muzzleloading, and want to get a decent Muzzleloader, but dont want to have to mortgage my house.
Old 01-01-2005, 11:21 AM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: Another question on new Muzzleloader

I own a T/C .50 caliber Black Diamond XR rifle. It is a great shooting rifle without a doubt. As good as any of them out there on the muzzleloading market in my opinion.

The rifle is an open breech design. This is something many are trying to avoid because of the fear of hunting in wet weather and fowling out the rifle. Well I have never had a problem in that area.

The main draw backs of the Black Diamond is the fowling. It will fowl a scope unless you take steps to protect the scope. Many other muzzleloaders do the same thing. It is part of the sport as far as I am concerned. Also the rifle is a little more heavy in weight then a lot of the rifles out there. You will appreciate this when shooting the rifle and recoil is an issue. It really is a sweet shooter.