Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Buying new ML - Which one? >

Buying new ML - Which one?

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Buying new ML - Which one?

Old 12-03-2003, 08:58 PM

Default Buying new ML - Which one?

I'm brand new to ML. I've strictly bowhunted for about the last 10 years and just realized I'm missing out on a lot of great hunting opportunities by not taking advantage of the ML seasons.

I'm in the market for a new ML (my first). I really like the break open designs. I've looked at the CVA Optima Pro and the TC Encore. Is there a significant difference between these two ML's to justify the difference in price? It looks like the CVA can be bought for around $280. I guess for the money I'm leaning towards the CVA. Is this a mistake? Also, I've heard that Knight is coming out with a new break open design. Has anyone heard anything about this?

Is there another one I should be considering as well?

Thanks in advance!
Old 12-03-2003, 09:25 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Buying new ML - Which one?

i have a T/C hawkens .50 flintlock....and love it....we have a late season flintlock in pa after x-mas....so you have to use a flintlock....i use it in buck season going on now...............bob

Old 12-04-2003, 06:25 AM

for the money , you cant beat the cva ....got an eclipse .50 magnum at bass pro for $100. put a scope on and once I had it zero'd had 2 out of 3 touching at 100yds
Old 12-04-2003, 06:28 AM
Giant Nontypical