Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Neophyte Question About Powder >

Neophyte Question About Powder

Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Neophyte Question About Powder

Old 09-08-2003, 01:24 PM

Default Neophyte Question About Powder

I recently was given my first blackpowder rifle as a birthday gift, a Traditions Tracker 209. Seems like a great gun and am having fun with it.

Being a beginner, I have a few questions about powder charges.

How does more or less powder effect accuracy? Aside from consistency, what are the advantages and disadvantages of smaller or larger loads?

I will be using the rifle for whitetails in West Virginia. What would some of you suggest as a powder and bullet weight combination?

I appreciate any input...Thanks!
Old 09-08-2003, 02:51 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Neophyte Question About Powder

Springgobbler

Your shoulder will notice a big difference when shooting 150 grains with that mule-stomper 209.

That rifle likes 100 grains 777 (120 in Pyro/777pellets) with a long sabot/bullet between 250-300 grains.

I was making one big hole at 75 yards with 44 cal Precision Extremes 275 grains.

A couple of days later, two buddies were watching me getting those great patterns & they fought over buying my rifle. I sold it for $35 more than what I had invested in it -- went & bought a T/C Omega.

Put two 6" 3/8s bolts in the buttstock - fill it will Great Stuff spray foam... it will help balance it & reduce recoil.
Old 09-08-2003, 03:32 PM
Typical Buck

springgobbler.............

Powder load can definitely affect accuracy - but how it affects it, is largely dependent on the barrel twist and the bullets used.