Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Shot Some More BH

Old 10-29-2011, 09:28 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Shot Some More BH

A friend stopped over yesterday and we went out on the porch and did a bunch of shooting. Including my Knight LRH. I started out wih a 120 grain load of BH-209, a crushed rib sabot, and a 300 grain Deep Curl Bullet. I studied alot and this seemed to be a very credible load. So I started with it.

I shot the rifle at 100 yards and shot three groups of three shots. On separate targets.

The bullet hit exactly where I thought it would hit. Almost all shots were in the center ring at 100 yards. And the rifle shot MOA groups at 100 yards(plus maybe 1/4" additional). I was very happy with that.

I know alot of you guys say to try different components. But I know this load is going to perform perfectly to 200+ yards just by how it shot at 50 and 100 yards.

These groups are about as good as the rifle(or any other MZ I have had) has ever shot.

I know you guys like to experiment alot with different loads. but I prefer to practice in the woods, and stay off the bench.

The question is simple. What am I really going to gain by spending alot more time and money at the bench experimenting with other different loads and bullets??

The 300 grain Deep Curl will kill anything I want. The Leupold CDS worked perfect from 50 to 100 yarsds. And I am sure it is going to work to 200+. And the BH is so simple to clean and shoot. So why should I try anything else?? What am I really going to gain?? Nothing I can think of.

I am keeping track of how many shots my breech plug will last. Tom.
Old 10-29-2011, 11:57 AM
mountaineer magic

What am i going to gain you ask? Why that should be obvious. The fun and expense of shooting up hundreds of dollars in powder and bullets. Los and lots of fun. That's what you gain.

Old 10-29-2011, 12:02 PM
Nontypical Buck