Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Sabots in Knight Revolution II >

Sabots in Knight Revolution II

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Sabots in Knight Revolution II

Old 11-09-2008, 12:47 PM
TE

Default Sabots in Knight Revolution II

I was sighting in my scope yesterday on my new Knight Revolution II and have been trying a new load. I tried the Hornady 45 cal. (.452) 300 gr HP/XTP bullets with a black 4 petal MMP sabot with 100 grs. Goex Black Powder. At 45 yds I had a 3 shot group measuring 1.25" about 3-4" high. I figured this would be about dead on at 100 yds. The problem was after the 2nd shot I could hardly get the load down the last 2-3". I had swabbed the barrel after the fouling shot but I tried to match hunting conditions as best as I could. I've been hunting with a muzzleloader for about 25 years now so this type of shooting is not new to me. In my old Hawken I shot 385 gr Buffalo Bullets and Powerbelts in my Knight Wolverine. Do I need to try a different type MMP sabot or go back to Powerbelts? I've shot many deer with the 50 cal 295 gr HP Copper-Clad Powerbelts but never got a good pass-thru. In all the information I could find said this is a good bullet-sabot for this Green Mountain barrel. What do you guys think? Thanks.
Old 11-09-2008, 01:08 PM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Sabots in Knight Revolution II

TE

All I can relate to you is that I do swab after each shot most of the time, I can normally get about 4 shots off without running the swab if I needed to but after that it gets really tuff... I shoot T7 which I THINK burns a little cleaner than GOEX.

You did not say which MMP it was - It could be either the HPH-12 or the HPH-24 - I guess I am assuming it is a 24 the thinner of the two - there is two other thinner options... a MMP HPH-3p-EZ load and the Harvester 'crush rib'