Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 when the rest matters >

when the rest matters

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

when the rest matters

Old 05-29-2008, 02:03 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default when the rest matters

Been thinking, when I started shooting my new englander, I was using an homemade shooting rest made with stuff around the house. I was hitting the target everytime. then I switched to and mtm site and clean rest and that is where it all went to hell.

I also have some stoney point bags too I started with. I do very little 100yrd shooting because of where I hunt I may have as much as 75yrds. but the little I have done. the mtm with my knight all over the place, same bullet with the homemade rest 4in group, same bullet with bags 2 to 4in group.

switch to the mtm to save my back.

so my plan after I get my new englander fixed. is to take all 3 rest and do 5 shot groups off of each of them. and test my theory.

Thoughts?
Old 05-29-2008, 02:16 PM

Default RE: when the rest matters

Sounds very reasonable. I do my best shooting off sand bags or even my fence line. My rifle rest is ok but its just to light weight and not very comfortable to shoot off.
Old 05-29-2008, 02:42 PM
Boone & Crockett

I'll tell you what corey - you just proved my suspicion. I also have an MTM rest. I've always shot off a 3' x 4' folding table using and adjustable front rest with a sand bag and sandbags for the rear and shot well. I thought the MTM would be a neater, one-piece solution to carrying that 5 gallon bucket of sandbags.