Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Leaving loaded overnight? >

Leaving loaded overnight?

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Leaving loaded overnight?

Old 10-09-2007, 07:52 AM

Default Leaving loaded overnight?

Hey guys Im new to the muzzleloader scene and I was wondering if it was okay to leave my ML loaded overnight (no cap obviously)? If not what should I do about unloading b/c I dont want to shoot it and scare the deer off.

Thanks!
Old 10-09-2007, 08:06 AM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Leaving loaded overnight?

Unless it rainedon the day you hunted, leaving it loaded over night is not a problem. At least one one of my muzzleloaders is always loaded, sometimes for as long as a month.They are always kept in the house.Despitebeing loaded for a long time, my muzzleloaders have alwaysgone bang when they were supposed to.

Your mileage may vary.
Old 10-09-2007, 08:32 AM
Boone & Crockett

Monster Whitetails

If you look through these threads you can see that I leave mine loaded most often for extended times..

http://www.huntingnet.com/forum/tm.aspx?m=1911153&mpage=1&key=remington%2c humidity&#1915128

http://www.huntingnet.com/forum/tm.aspx?m=1911153&mpage=1&key=Remington%2c humidity&#1911153

Can remember if there are significant differences in these two posts...

Old 10-09-2007, 09:05 AM

I've Left My Hawken loaded for almost a year once "kinda forgot about it when Moma had our first child & all" & it still went bang...

But if you were in the rain during the hunt you may want to shoot that load off or at least pull it so that you know that it's not moisture contaminated...

On a side note, I've had a Repro Colt 1851 Navy loaded for almost 9 years "I used to keep one loaded as a alternative Home Deffence weapon" but had it in it's case CAPPED!
It also shot quite well.
Old 10-09-2007, 09:33 AM
Dominant Buck