Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Safety Question

Old 12-14-2006, 03:11 PM

Default Safety Question

Okay, so here's a question that will show you I'm a total beginner. When I get my traditional percussion style ML next month, is there any way to put a safety on it. What I mean is, is there any way to load the powder and patched roundball and then make sure it won't go off. I would assume that if I don't pull the hammer back and then the trigger, I should be okay. BUT, what do I know at this point until I get it and start shooting.

I'm mainly concerned because much of my hunting is from treestands and I'm thinking it would be easier to load on the ground and then hoist the rifle up. I want to be extremely careful doing this.
Old 12-14-2006, 03:20 PM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Safety Question

chucker34

The safety... the only safety you will likely find is a "Half Cock" on the hammer... it is really pretty reliable...

For hoisting into the tree or carrying down out of the tree remove the cap and set the hammer down on the nipple...

Most safety folks will tell do not cap until you are ready to shoot - come to think of it I bet the whitetail would agree with that one also....

Old 12-14-2006, 03:21 PM

The safest safety out there is simply by not capping it. Esprcially when u are climbing into a tree stand. Keep it uncapped untill you get settled in and ready, then cap it once u are. Leave it on half cock while its capped. Thats the only safety. And another thing, dont forget to pull the hammer all the way back when you are ready to fire .
Old 12-14-2006, 03:21 PM
Giant Nontypical

I always take the cap or primer off or out of any muzzleloader before hoisting it up! Lee
Old 12-14-2006, 04:04 PM
Dominant Buck