Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Black Jack Hill

Old 12-13-2006, 10:49 PM

Default Black Jack Hill

I'm just wondering if anyone has experience with rounds from blackjackhill.com. I'm looking at rounds for my daughter to shoot out of her new Winchester Apex and found this site. The prices are what really have me interested. At $10-$15 per 50 she can put a lot more rounds through her rifle than if she shoots PowerBelts or Shockwaves. I know the stuff they are selling isn't fancy or high tech, but if it will do the job thats whats important.

Is there any reason for me not to try this stuff out? I am new to BP so I really don't have a super clear understanding of why I would use a Powerbelt over a Shockwave over a Maxi-ball or whatever. I do understand that a ball out of her 1:28 twist barrel isn't good. But beyond that I"m still learning. But other than that, what restrictions should I be worried about. Since she is paying for her own supplies, I want her to get as much shooting for her money as possible, without wasting her money on complete crap. I'm not the kind of guy who has to have the most expensive, newest, absolute best of everything, but I do want a quality product that will get the job done. And if she doesn't have to pay a buck a shot she'll be able to do more shooting.
Old 12-13-2006, 11:35 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Black Jack Hill

ORIGINAL: dmacl

I'm just wondering if anyone has experience with rounds from blackjackhill.com. I'm looking at rounds for my daughter to shoot out of her new Winchester Apex and found this site. The prices are what really have me interested. At $10-$15 per 50 she can put a lot more rounds through her rifle than if she shoots PowerBelts or Shockwaves. I know the stuff they are selling isn't fancy or high tech, but if it will do the job thats whats important.