Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 cheap AND good bullets? >

cheap AND good bullets?

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

cheap AND good bullets?

Old 09-07-2006, 07:35 AM

Default cheap AND good bullets?

Hello-
I'm new to muzzleloading. I'm not new to rifles. Before I go out looking for venison on the hoof, I plan to put at least a hundred rounds through my Huntsman (which should arrive tomorrow, I hope!).

One other important factoid about me is that I'm cheap so I cringe at the thought of paying a buck a bang. I look through http://cabelas.com/and while I can appreciate the potential of the powerbelts and such, I'm not sure how much is gimmick and how much is actual advantage.
[align=left]What is a good, accurate, cheap bullet solution for .50 muzzleloader?[/align][align=left][/align][align=left]Thank you.[/align]
Old 09-07-2006, 08:42 AM

Default RE: cheap AND good bullets?

well right now I am liking and shooting good with the Hornady 240grn xtps for my deer loads I pay up here in Yorkton, Sask Canada $11 for 20 of them they come with the green sabots. Some people say that the bullets are good but you can get better sabots, but I haven't had any problems so I don't see the point to spending extra money for sabots when the bullets come with perfectly good sabots. Also the Hornady 250grn sst/ml's are a nice bullet for 20 of them for $12 they are a ballistic tipped bullet, I had problems with the sabots that came with those bullets they were black(don't know the name) but they were thicker and were near impossible to get down my bullet. Anyways thats cheap bullets up here I don't know about the USA.
Old 09-07-2006, 09:30 AM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: biggerhammer

Hello-