Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Important question...rookie >

Important question...rookie

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Important question...rookie

Old 08-10-2006, 07:06 PM

Default Important question...rookie

My neighbor just called to inform me that he bought a .50 black powder. This is not an in-line gun. Without doing the proper research he poured some powder in, forced a bullet in and tried to shoot it. Only the blasting cap ingnited. He wasn't sure if the powder went off or not, so he poured more powder in and forced another bullet in then realized that he had two loads in the barrel. I have no experience with these guns (and he has even less) and I know that it is dangerous to try and fire the weapon as is. So any advice on how to empty the barrel safely? There is a plug of some sort at the back of the barrel that I assume is screwed in. My neighbor has tried removing it with a plyers (don't ask me why) but couldn't get it to budge. Is it safe to put the barrel in a vice and try to back this plug out with a wrench? I want to help him out and keep the situation safe. Please let me know if you have the answers. Thanks.
Old 08-10-2006, 07:16 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Important question...rookie

OK first off we can defuse the sitiuation and make it safe for all. take the barrel off the stock and soak it in water for at least 1/2 hour. Then you have to go to a sport shop and buy a ball/bullet puller to remove the two bullets and then clean the barrel real good and start fresh after getting some loading help.
Old 08-10-2006, 07:25 PM

I shared your advice with him. Thanks.
Old 08-10-2006, 07:39 PM
Dominant Buck