Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Optima ??

Old 02-14-2006, 07:14 PM
Fork Horn

Default Optima ??

Anybody out there own or shoot the Optima by CVA. Looking for a new muzzleloader and not sure where I want to go this time. I have had 54cal. and 50cal.,think I might want 45cal. I want something accurate out 100++ yards also camo stock with blued barrel and easy to clean.
Old 02-14-2006, 07:32 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Optima ??

Most ML supplies/components are in 50-cal.

50-cal MLs can shoot any size sabot/bullet that a 45-cal shoots.

My choices forinline brand names are Knight, Austin-Halleck, Thompson Center, Savage,custom Whites andNew England Firearms. I won't shoulder anything else.
Old 02-14-2006, 07:34 PM
Boone & Crockett

rcgerchow

Might take a look here - I am just getting into "the new modern inline world" I am still in the bolt action inline, but if these are legal in your state - I'm thinking the Omega might be the gun to have - easy to shoot easy to clean. Mine is coming next week so I really can tell you the pros and cons... unless you want to talk about older inlines or side hammers - but seriously - I think this is a quality gun..

http://www.midsouthshooterssupply.com/item.asp?sku=000318921

Old 02-14-2006, 07:36 PM

I have a CVA Beartooth Magnum in 45cal. It is ok
if you've heard all the horror stories, about the
Spanish-made barrels. Mine shoots powerbelts like
they were on a rope. But doesn't seem to like any
other bullets. I took a nice buck last year with it.
No blood trail, & I don't like that. If I were you
I'd look for some of the sales on the T/C Omega's.
Just my 2-cents.
Old 02-15-2006, 05:39 PM
Fork Horn