Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Pellets or loose?

Old 12-12-2005, 03:39 PM

Default Pellets or loose?

What is your preference? Pellets or loose and why? How hard is it to deal with loose in the field. I am new to Muzzleloading and am trying to decide which way to go with my powder selection. I have a T/c Omega
Old 12-12-2005, 03:52 PM

Default RE: Pellets or loose?

Pellets are pretty convenient and have improved ignition consistency for charges above 120 grains -at least with the Pyrodex pellets. They are quite a bit more expensive, though,and don't offer the "fine tuning" option that loose powder provides. As far as loading in hunting situations, the loose powder loads great if you pre-measure it in a speedloader or other small container.
Old 12-12-2005, 04:09 PM
Giant Nontypical

I have been muzzle loading since 1960 and I have come to the conclusion that if you want the best accuracy you feed the gun what it likes and keep an open mind. Lee
Old 12-12-2005, 05:24 PM
Dominant Buck

If all a person was going to do is shoot a few shots each year to make sure the rifle was on and then hunt with the rifle, I would not see a problem with them using pellets. If a person on the other hand wants to go to the range and shoot a great deal, then pellets can get to expensive and loose powder is a better option.

I have never bought pellets although shota few loads from others and they worked fine. I just never could see the need for buying them when loose is so much cheaper.
Old 12-12-2005, 05:32 PM