Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Big Game Hunting
 mauser goin bear hunting?!? >

mauser goin bear hunting?!?

Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

mauser goin bear hunting?!?

Old 09-10-2003, 10:31 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default mauser goin bear hunting?!?

this is my first time in the big game forum i do believe...my dad been going bear hunting the past few years and always left me behind so i dont miss so much school because bear season is 3 days before thanksgiving and then its thanksgiving vacation then deer rifle season starts that monday and i miss school to hunt so he leaves me at home...this year im 16 and my grades are always pretty good and i make up what i miss so he knows i will do what it takes...he told me i can go with him and a bunch of guys from work...he has off work from sunday before bear on monday until the first friday or so in buck season so i got a heck of a trip! i cant wait...he never sees bears but its a nice time to be out and theres always a chance a bear might run by..theres defiently bear in the areas he hunts but theyve never taken one yet...im just looking for some tips to maybe give me a little edge over finding a good spot to bear hunt...do you bear hunt wide open hard woods or thickets? im going to be in the mountains of NW pennsylvania...the bear populations isnt HUGE but they are out there....i think they go scouting the sunday before and hunt for the 3 days...so we will hunt mornings...drive a bit before lunch then hunt the afternoon until dark..i think thats what they do....we got about 6-10 guys i really dont know...im really excited even if i dont see a bear it will still be fun....and im off school and work for about 2 weeks or more!....any tips on helping me find a bear? i know i dont have alot of time to scout or anything so that hurts...but we do know the area well and know bears use it...weve found scat and such sign....but my dads