Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.
 Nosler

1st Elk hunt

Old 01-24-2011, 10:30 AM
Spike

Default 1st Elk hunt

Hello everyone.

Obviously I am new to this site, but I was hoping I could get some advice and clarity on some questions I have about elk hunting. I’ve tried to do multiple searches but I still have a few questions.

1. Do you take a frame pack with you when you do the actual hunting or just have a small pack and wait until you get your game down?
2. Once the game is down, is it best to bag the meat in to breathable sack and hang everything near by?
3. If packing the meat out with an internal frame pack, do you place the meat into a plastic bag to keep blood from getting all over the inside of your bag?
4. Is it OK to haul the meat out in plastic bags instead of cloth bags?
I am not new to hunting or backpacking but I am new to Elk hunting and hauling the meat out with a pack. I always like to have certain items with me whether I am going into the woods all day or simply just staying in the woods for an hour or two. So what is my best approach to being able to have a camera, knife, fire starter, water, first aid, GPS, map, compass, flashlight, extra socks, gloves, etc. and still be able to carry meat out?

Thanks
Flatlander88
Old 01-24-2011, 11:10 AM
Nontypical Buck

We usually just carry the light packs and when someone gets one down one starts in on the cutting (I usually carry the game bags with me so I have them to start right away). The other guy goes back for the frame pack and I usually have a couple quarters ready for them when they get back. I have also just tied them to my pack and hauled them out. I have a blackhawk pack that I put all the loose stuff inside in a game bag and a back quarter tied to the outside (Lots of weight) got all bloody but it washes off. You want the meat to cool and breathing helps. If it is cold enough the plastic would work but it wouldn't be my first choice.