Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Rifled slugs in the smooth bore? >

Rifled slugs in the smooth bore?

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Rifled slugs in the smooth bore?

Old 08-09-2008, 08:31 PM

Default Rifled slugs in the smooth bore?

I bought an 870 combo it comes with both the rifled barrel has twists in it and a smooth bore barrel for turkeys and small game. I am new in the world of shotguns.

My question is I bought some Remington slugger rifled slugs thinking that I should use them for my rifled barrel with twists in it. However, when I read the box on the slugs it tells me NOT to use them in a demascus or rifle twisted barrel.

Should I keep these and just use and use them in the smooth bore barrel that was desinged for small game?

I really do NOT want to have to spend $12 for a box of 5 rounds compared to the $4 that I paid for these.
Old 08-09-2008, 09:40 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Rifled slugs in the smooth bore?

sabots for rifled barrels,

rifled slugs for smooth bores.

They do cost more, but how many do you really need?

Old 08-09-2008, 10:28 PM

I know what you are saying. I have the fixed sight barrel so it probably won't take many shots to get it sighted in with. It just won't be very much fun with at the range. We'll have to see...
Old 08-09-2008, 10:32 PM

ORIGINAL: Dozen Arrows

I know what you are saying. I have the fixed sight barrel so it probably won't take many shots to get it sighted in with. It just won't be very much fun with at the range. We'll have to see...
I will never use a rifled slug, my rifled barrel loves SST's, Expanders and Lightfields to much I'm willing to pay the extra money to please my barrel and to bring down my deer. This is how i look at it, you spend hundreds on boots, clothes, guns, optics, tags, whats $100 on quality ammunition that shoots out to 150 yards?
Old 08-09-2008, 10:35 PM