Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 .45 Muzzleloader Bullets >

.45 Muzzleloader Bullets

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

.45 Muzzleloader Bullets

Old 10-10-2005, 01:26 PM

Default .45 Muzzleloader Bullets

I'd love to hear from those of you with more experience than I have. I've got a CVA MagBolt .45. It's a 26" barrel with 1:28" twist. I haven't tested it beyind 50 yards on targets or deer. I've killed 3 smallish (less than 90 lbs.) deer all 30-40 yards. Of course I hope to kill something bigger this year. I'm still pretty new to deer hunting.

I've only hunted with the PR Bullet QT's (240gr). They've been quick, humane kills but no pass-throughs (don't know if that's really necessary). I've shot 275gr Powerbelt Aero Tips and 200gr Hornady SST's. All had about the same accuracy at 50 yards. I doubt I'll ever need to shoot much over 100 yards in the hills and woods of Mid TN.

Let's say under 125 yards, white-tails only, what bullet do you choose for best accuracy and plenty of knock-down power? I hear great things about Hornady XTP's and SST's and Barnes Red Hots and Expanders. But is a 195-200gr bullets big enough. By that, I don't mean just enough to do the trick with the perfect shot. I want it to hit and transfer enough energy for quick if not instant knockdown with decent shot placement.

What .45 bullet do you think has the best odds of doing this? I know a poor shot want get it done with any of my options. What's the best bullet under 125 yards, without buying a .50 cal gun?

By the way, so far I've been shooting 90gr of 777 fffg.

Old 10-10-2005, 01:54 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: .45 Muzzleloader Bullets