Community
Young Hunters Specifically for the kids, this is a great place to share experiences and meet other young hunters.

too young?

Old 04-26-2005, 07:19 AM

Default too young?

Hey Folks, not for sure where to post, but thought I'd give it a try here. I'm the father of a 5 year old and wondered when to get her involved in shooting. I'd like to get a bb gun and have her practice and see if she likes it, but honestly I think 5 is too young. When did you start shooting? I'm too old I can't remember.

TIA.
Old 04-26-2005, 09:07 AM

Default RE: too young?

I've got the same problem keith. I've got a friend whose son was shooting a BB gun at five or six. He'd help hold and aim the rifle while the son would pull the trigger.
Old 04-26-2005, 09:48 AM
Nontypical Buck

I also can't remember when I started shooting. It's difficult to put a hard cap on age. It really depends on the kid. I would hold off a little though and maybe start with toy guns that are anatomically correct. I think as long as the child can understand the significance and consequences of misusing a firearm (including bb guns) it is probably ok to start out slow with a really weak bb gun. I would probably wait a little bit though. I know I had my first .22 when i was 10 maybe younger.
Old 04-26-2005, 10:01 AM

I started shooting at about that age. When I have kids I will let my kids start shooting at about that age.
Old 04-26-2005, 11:17 AM
Nontypical Buck

I think I got my first gun (bb) at 10.

I don't think I was too young, but by that age I could somewhat comprehend the idea of responsibility and what the gun in my hands actually meant.

Up to the parent though, I ain't gonna tell you how to raise your kid.
Old 04-26-2005, 11:33 AM
Nontypical Buck

Yeah its up to what you think and how your kid is. I dont know either one of you enough to tell you what to do. I would probably wait a couple years, but good luck in whatever you decide to do.
Old 04-26-2005, 12:31 PM