Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Groups > Young Hunters
should i pass up a doe >

should i pass up a doe

Young Hunters Specifically for the kids, this is a great place to share experiences and meet other young hunters.

should i pass up a doe

Old 10-13-2002, 04:17 PM

Default should i pass up a doe

should a 12 year old pass up a doe or a small buck???

e-mail me back at [email protected]
Old 10-13-2002, 04:50 PM

Default RE: should i pass up a doe

If he or she can legally take it go ahead, it comes down to if the hunter wants to pass up or not.

Old 10-14-2002, 04:36 PM
Fork Horn

It is up to the hunter if they want to pass it then pass it.
Old 10-14-2002, 05:33 PM

I've been hunting since I was 12 and for four years, I have yet to kill a deer. Killed pleanty of other animals, but never killed a deer. I wouldn't pass up any legal deer. Doe are illegal here, must be atleast a 1x2 or above.
Old 10-14-2002, 08:10 PM

im 14 and been huntin since i was 6 and ive passed up plenty of doe
specially in rut. it depens if ur hunting all season or just a couple of days. if all season, u really dont want to get one first couple of weeks cause bucks co after doe and tha bucks the troqhey

but good luck anyway

justin thorn
Old 10-14-2002, 08:10 PM

thats couse not co

justin thorn
Old 10-14-2002, 09:22 PM
Banned

Default [Deleted]

[Deleted by Admins]
Old 10-15-2002, 09:45 AM
Nontypical Buck

If you wanna shoot a doe go for it. We have a 3 point rule here so most of the bucks you see are illegal to shoot anyways. I've shot 2 does and a buck. Doe's put meat in the freezer, hunting an old doe can be just as challenging as hunting a buck, and it's not cheating, it's personaly preference. If all you've seen are does in the area, then take a few of them, the buck/doe ratio is outta whack in most areas anyways. Good luck huntin.