Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Wildlife Management / Food Plots
Rocks & some shale - how to work ground? >

Rocks & some shale - how to work ground?

Community
Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

Rocks & some shale - how to work ground?

Old 05-13-2019, 09:48 AM
Spike

Default Rocks & some shale - how to work ground?

Hello,

I'm a newbie so be nice - I just bought 150 acres and have some open strip mine areas that are grassy. Previous owner tried working the ground with a chisel plow and brought up many rocks in one section, cant safely mow it now because of all the rocks.
My question is this - Do I rip the group up and deal with the rocks? Do I spray and over seed? I am open to buying equipment. I have a 45hp tractor, a 5ft harrow, a 55 gal sprayer and a pto seeder.
Please help!
Central PA area Clinton County - Mountain ground 10 miles from electric and town.
Old 05-13-2019, 01:04 PM
Nontypical Buck

first off, welcome to the site
I have 30 + yrs of building food plots as experience, and am also in PA!

so??
this is a hard question to answer , as the best answer would be very costly
your options
spraying and burning down the top vegetation, then seeding, will work to a point, BUT since you said you have a lot of Large rocks sticking up, preventing mower(and possibly spraying if a tow behind sprayer)
its going to be very hard to keep any food plot weed free and attractive.
SO< the best option here to get the best take will be to remove rocks
this can be a long hard job, or costly or both
if you have access to equipment that can turn the soil over well and pull up rocks, you can TRY and find a local farmer with a rock picker and get help that way
or maybe rent a rock bucket for a front end loader or a skid steer
and do your best tot get as many rocks out of the plot site as possible