Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Wildlife Management / Food Plots
 Are hay fields just as good as a clover plot? >

Are hay fields just as good as a clover plot?

Community
Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

Are hay fields just as good as a clover plot?

Old 03-29-2009, 12:27 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default Are hay fields just as good as a clover plot?

This year i have 17 acres of hay planted on my property. This will be the first year that it is harvested. It got moderate deer traffic last year, and im thinking that since its mostly grass and clover, that it will get heavier traffic this year. Im no expert on this stuff though.

Thoughts?
Old 03-29-2009, 12:30 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Are hay fields just as good as a clover plot?

Im not sure about compared to clover, but the overgrown hay that I recently cleared was used a lot for doe/fawn bedding. I left a good amount where most of the beds are, but I don't know a whole lot about hay. Im sure you will get your answer though
Old 03-29-2009, 12:58 PM
Typical Buck

Siman, My answer would be yes. The only exception would be if more preferable forage was being grown nearby. Bowman is right about a hayfield that is not cut being a preferred place for does to have their fawns. But as far as more deer activity, a cut hayfield is better. Clover and grass grow good together, but once the grass matures it hinders the clover, and clover thrives with frequent cutting. With a field that size and depending on what type of clover is growing (preferably red/white or both) you should see a lot more activity. IMHO.
Old 03-29-2009, 01:33 PM
Giant Nontypical

Well, It is actually 3 fields....

Heres my layout:

Red is the access roads
Old 03-29-2009, 01:49 PM
Typical Buck