Community
Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

New to food plots

Old 02-27-2009, 04:14 AM

Default New to food plots

Hi everyone. I'm new to food plots, and don't know much about them, so I hope someone can help me. Let me first explain what I have to work with. I've got 110 acres predominantly hardwoods, beech, maple, cherry, with an area .25 acre in size open for a plot. For equipment I have an ATV with snow plow, 13HP lawn tractor, and homemade drag harrow (chain link fence), plus various hand tools. My questions are:

1. Is a plot .25 acre in size enough? Do I need to worry about dominant bucks pushing other bucks out?

2. With only the equipment I have, not much time to work on it, and a couple hundred bucks for seed, etc, what can I do to attract more deer and provide nutrition? Anyone here of No Plow or Secret Spot from Whitetail Institute? Will these work for me?

3. How often to plant? Cool season, warm season, or both?

I don't know my soil PH, or how its even done. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Old 02-27-2009, 04:34 AM

Default RE: New to food plots

Maybe take that couple hundred bucks you would be spending on seed and buy a ATV disc, we've had good luck with the King Kutter from TSC, $300-$400. Go to the local co-op and a blend of clover andalfalfa that will cover 1/4 acre for $5.
Your main problem may be overgrazing.
Where are you located? How many deer in your area? When do you plan on hunting it? Aerial pics such as those you get for free on google earth would be helpful.
DO A SOIL SAMPLE!
Failing to plan is planning to fail
Old 02-27-2009, 05:04 AM
Fork Horn