Community
Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

Same ol question

Old 02-12-2009, 04:25 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Same ol question

im sorry fellas i dont visit here much but im sure this question is asked all the time.... i want to start a food plot this spring... i talked about it before but never did it.. im serious about it this year... i have access to some farm equip. tractor an such not quite sure what attachments are available with it(disc for sure).. could somone please explain to me the correctsteps i have to go through to be sucessful...like i said im new at this so i have about 10000 questions...
Old 02-12-2009, 05:28 PM

Default RE: Same ol question

well what are you wanting to plant?
Old 02-12-2009, 07:08 PM
Typical Buck

I strongly suggest you stay away from what is referred to as genetically altered or modified seed. There are a lot of unanswered questions as to what these seeds do the the soil in the long term.

If you plat an annual, you should do a crop rotation. Planting the same annual year after year on the same soil invites problems with disease.

As roper asked what are you planning to sow? What you plant determines what you do with the soil.
Old 02-12-2009, 08:57 PM
Fork Horn

First off soil sample. This will tell you how much lyme and fertilize you need. After that decide whether you want a perennial plot that will last for many seasons or an annual plot for one. In general perennial gives a medium to high protein source with low to medium yield per plant. Annual can usualy give anywhere from low to high yield with very low to medium protein depending on selection. What state do you live in? And as the gentleman above said try to stear clear of roundup ready seed. There are many other versions of modified or altered but this is the chief type in our country.
Blessings
Old 02-13-2009, 12:03 PM
Nontypical Buck