Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

cattle mess up food plot ideas???

Old 12-07-2008, 09:02 PM
  #1  
Fork Horn
Thread Starter
 
Lightsout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 120
Default cattle mess up food plot ideas???

i have property and it has cattle and horses on it. can you still plant a food plot? if so, what would you plant? thank you.
Lightsout is offline  
Old 12-16-2008, 04:17 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
gamespooker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: gainesville, FL/Blakely, GA
Posts: 580
Default RE: cattle mess up food plot ideas???

you can plant whatever you want, as long as you can keep the livestock out. field fence works well, but will not allow for fawns to come in and feed. we prefer 4 strand barb wire. will keep cows, horses etc. out, but allow deer of all size access.
gamespooker is offline  
Old 12-17-2008, 08:25 AM
  #3  
Nontypical Buck
 
gregrn43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: arkansas
Posts: 3,162
Default RE: cattle mess up food plot ideas???

We have cattle on our 500 acre farm. I fence all my food plots in otherwise the cattle want leave anything for the deer. 3 strand barbwire works just great. Some people say that more is needed to keep them out, not true. I have a little over 5 acres in plots and 3 strands works just fine.
gregrn43 is offline  
Old 12-23-2008, 11:20 AM
  #4  
Typical Buck
 
patchholder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 576
Default RE: cattle mess up food plot ideas???

Our400 acre farm is fenced in different sections so in differnt times the cattle will be in different parts so you could plant food plots right after cows are locked out. Some places they are in anyway and you can use electric fence and a 6 volt battery if needed.
patchholder is offline  
Old 12-23-2008, 09:20 PM
  #5  
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location:
Posts: 24
Default RE: cattle mess up food plot ideas???

hey I tell you what bobwire is a good idea but if thare are horses there to. I would not do it! Becose I not sure if you know this or not but horses will get tecness really easy and bobwire is one of the main thing that the tecness bactera lives on and I am sure you do not want to have to bye the guy another horse I would say get some of that ribbon hot wire and get a hot box that runs on SUN POWER! LOL it will be cheper in the long run and that way you dont have to bye a horse LOL
Jayme roper is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
bubba holley
Wildlife Management / Food Plots
2
05-29-2009 05:06 AM
gsclift
Wildlife Management / Food Plots
2
01-30-2009 06:56 PM
J B
Wildlife Management / Food Plots
4
01-05-2005 10:47 PM
BolognaSniper
Wildlife Management / Food Plots
4
01-03-2005 07:23 AM
wolf6151
Wildlife Management / Food Plots
3
01-31-2002 06:11 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Quick Reply: cattle mess up food plot ideas???


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.