Community
Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

Pelleted Lime

Old 01-10-2003, 03:27 PM

Default Pelleted Lime

Is pelletted lime more concentrated that regular ag lime. Would you recommend that it be used on spots that are only 1/2 - 1 acre in size? I've heard that it doesn't last as long as reg. ag lime. Any thoughts or experiences with this???
Old 01-12-2003, 06:58 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Pelleted Lime

I'm no expert but here's the only 2 differences I know of.

#1- The pelletized lime is easier and doesn't make as much of a mess to spread.

#2- The pulverized (powder) lime is cheaper. I can buy a ton for $70 versus about $130 for the pelletized lime.

Both seem to work about the same and it will take around 6 months for it to "kick in" and change the pH level.
Old 01-12-2003, 07:57 PM
Boone & Crockett

I think the pelleted lime is just lime that has been processed into a pelleted form for ease of application in areas that it isn't feasible for powdered lime application. It should do fine for your hard to get to small patches.

Old 01-14-2003, 05:43 PM
Nontypical Buck

I tried pelleted lime as an experiment, and loved its no-mess and ease of spreading. I was not thrilled with the price - 4-6 times as expensive in my area. The bag said "equal to ag lime by weight", so I think its about the same. I do not know if it breaks down as fine as ag lime, but would assume it does. I did not use enough of it to compare side by side w/ag lime - but would not expect any difference.

I hear you can buy it cheaper in some areas (not mine) in bulk, but still not as cheap as the standard lime. I think its more suited to a garden situation, or very small food plot.
Old 01-16-2003, 04:37 AM
Fork Horn