Community
Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

Questions for a small food plot

Old 12-21-2002, 01:02 PM

Default Questions for a small food plot

Hey I am going to try to plant some Imperial products this year in a couple of fields that are only about 1/2 acre big how should I plant it. And what should I plant. I also need to know when to plant it.

I read all about that you need a soil test how do you get one and how much do they cost. Also when should I plant the Imperial product thanks for your help. I am new at this so please try to explain.Oh yeah I live in Arkansas

Edited by - cabelascaleb on 12/21/2002 14:06:28

Edited by - cabelascaleb on 12/21/2002 14:08:25<font size=1></font id=size1>

Edited by - cabelascaleb on 12/21/2002 14:44:51
Old 12-22-2002, 05:45 PM
SAK

Default RE: Questions for a small food plot

soil tests will run you less than $10 a piece. As far as when to plant that information is on the back of the imperial products as is the info on how to plant. Half acre plots would probably be best for imperial clover or alpha rack. Imperial does have a new soy/lab lab product. If you were to go with the soy/lab lab you would have to invest in a deer repellent. This would be put around the plot to repel the deer until the soy was about knee high and then removed to allow the deer in. It would be extra work but if you know anything about how much deer HAMMER soy it would be worth the extra effort.
Old 12-22-2002, 10:23 PM
Nontypical Buck

Is Soy the same as Rape? I know lab-lab is a brassica, but when you say &quot;soy&quot;, is it a similar plant? I don't think you mean soybeans, but let me know if I'm wrong.